Five Precepts Retreat


Five Precepts Buddhists should observe the precepts after they have taken refuge in the Triple Gem as the precepts represent the foundation of all virtuous actions as well as the moral standard for the human race. Although there are different precepts for monastic and lay people, all precepts are based on the Five precepts and that is why the Five Precepts are called the “Foundation Precepts”.


Taking precepts are very similar to students following the rules of their school or people abiding by the common law in society. The only difference is that the school rules and law are external restrictions while Buddhist precepts are a form of self-discipline and are thus internal regulations. If a person driving on a expressway fails to obey the precepts, then he will face risk of breaking the rules and attracting trouble during his life. Thus it is essential for a Buddhist to observe the precepts.


Precepts are divided into monastic precepts and lay precepts. The lay precepts include: The Five precepts, and the contents of the Five Precepts are described as follows:

  • No Killing
  • No Stealing
  • No Sexual Misconduct
  • No Lying
  • No Drugs/Intoxicants


  • 1


  • 2


  • 3


  • 4


  • 5